2018 Candidates

2018 Candidates

Vote for board candidates at the 79th Annual Meeting

Voting for directors in each of Verendrye Electric’s three districts is vital part of the annual meeting. Candidates are nominated at caucus meetings held in April, but nominations can also come from the floor at the annual meeting.

Voting will take place from 6:45 p.m. to 7 p.m. All members vote for all districts. You must be in the 4-H Hall with your voter identification to vote. You can get the sticker when you register at the meeting. In addition to a member’s personal vote, a member may carry one additional non-personal vote (church, township hall, business) if the member is authorized to do so and has the appropriate registration card for the organization.

The candidates’ bios are listed in the order they were nominated.

Central District:

Shawn Kaylor, a fourth generation farmer, was raised on a farm six miles north of Velva and currently lives on a farm near there. He graduated from Velva High School and attended Minot State University and North Dakota State College of Science, Wahpeton, where he studied farm management. Shawn has two adult children, Kylie, and Brett.

Shawn is a volunteer firefighter with the Velva Fire Department and a member of the Velva Ambulance. He serves on the McHenry County Farmers Union board and is newly elected to the board of Velva Farmers Union. He is a past member of the McHenry County Ag Improvement Association and is a member of the Oak Valley Lutheran Church, Velva.









Eastern District:

Ken Schild is a Harvey native who has farmed on his grandfather, Bill’s, homestead southwest of

the city since 1980. He and his wife, Julie, have four children. Ken is active in the community and has served on the school board, Farmers Union Oil Co-op board and as the Western Township assessor. He also served on the Verendrye Member Advisory Committee and the Operation Round Up board and is a former Farm Services Administration Wells County committeeman and former member of the Harvey Recreation Commission.


Western District:

A fifth-generation Ward County farmer, John Warner and his wife, Janice, live south of Makoti.

He is a graduate of both Minot State University and North Dakota State University. Warner was first elected to the North Dakota Legislature in 1996 and has served in the Senate since 2004. Besides five sessions on the Appropriations Committee, he has served committees on transportation, political subdivisions, human services, agriculture, finance and taxation.

He has served on the interim Energy Development and Transmission Committee. In addition to several local boards and committees, he serves on the boards of the Ryder Historical Society and the Minot Symphony. John Warner also serves as pastor to Saron Lutheran Church in rural Minot.

Page Features: